Raisin Spice Cupcakes (Birthday Cupcakes #2)

IMG_3347a

In addition to the strawberry cupcakes I made for my niece’s birthday celebration, hubby made a request for some raisin spice cupcakes.  So we had some of each type on the birthday plate.  This is a kind of family heirloom recipe.  I have a handwritten copy of my grandmother’s, who got it from her sister, Julie, and my mom made it often when we were kids.  We know it as Aunty Julie’s Cake.  My sister and I usually have a bit of a laugh every time we make this cake, as it reminds us of the childhood memory we have of the time her and I decided to surprise our mom with some baking.  The recipe is written without any flour mentioned.  The adults knew you had to add flour, but the young teens didn’t know that yet 🙂  Needless to say, the first round was a complete flop!  I think we feed it to the chickens, hoping nobody would have to know about the fiasco.  We phoned Grandma to find out where we went wrong;  she was very kind to explain, but I’m sure she had a bit of chuckle too.  Besides including an amount for flour, I’ve also made a couple of other  minor adjustments over the years.

Aunty Julie’s Raisin Spice Cupcakes

½ cup butter

1 ½ cups brown sugar  (may be reduced to 1 cup)

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 2/3 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg OR allspice

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup raisins

Cream butter and brown sugar. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well. In separate bowl, stir together flour, baking powder and soda and spices. Alternate additions of flour and milk to creamed butter until all flour is incorporated. Gently fold in raisins. Pour into greased and floured 9”x 9” cake pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 30 minutes.  Makes about 24 cupcakes using medium size paper liners.

IMG_3373

IMG_3379a

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 18:12:15

    How nice to see grandma’s handwriting! These cupcakes are always delicious. Do you ever remember the recipe being made as a cake rather than cupcakes??

    Reply

    • kathyhillacre
      Jul 25, 2014 @ 09:35:23

      Hey, Sis. I think Mom usually made the recipe as a cake, but when I got married, the muffin craze was just getting going, so I started making the recipe that way. It was always my easy go-to if I had to take dessert for a potluck/picnics etc.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

Follow Endlessly Delicious on WordPress.com
